U gebruikt een verouderde browser. Wij raden u aan een upgrade van uw browser uit te voeren naar de meest recente versie.



In 1961 the Netherlands set up a parliament in the colony of Netherlands New Guinea, responsible for preparing the territory for independence by the end of ten years. One thing the council approved was a national anthem to be used, “Hai Tanahku Papua”, which had been written by a Dutch missionary back in the 1930s, and the anthem was officially used in the territory until the territory fell under Indonesian government control in 1963. From that time on, performance of the anthem and presenting other national symbols of West Papua in the Indonesian-controlled province became illegal. The national symbols, including the anthem, are still used by West Papua independence activists both inside West Papua and throughout the world.




“Hai Tanahku Papua” (Indonesian)
“O My Country, Papua” (English translation)


Izaak Samuel Kijne


Izaak Samuel Kijne

In use

November 18, 1961 (adopted)
May 1, 1963 (joined Indonesia)